Vegan: Day 23. *I DID IT*

Today completes  my *most of* February vegan challenge! YAY! Go me 😀

I really am proud of myself for doing this! I thought it would be more difficult than it was. As long as I was prepared with foods that I could eat, I wasn’t tempted to cheat. Plus, who am I cheating? “I can have that on March 1” was my motto to get me through any difficulty.  I didn’t crave dairy as much as I anticipated and I loved the creativity that came out of vegan eating for a month. Added bonus: saying no to dairy meant I didn’t have any of the ‘bad’ sweets that tempt someone on a diet: chocolates in the office, cake and ice cream at a party, cookies just-because. I was always satisfied by the meals that I made and the vegan sweets quenched my thirst for chocolate!

The take-away: I plan to continue vegan-ish…but I miss eggs and am craving sushi! haha

I hope that by seeing what I ate over the past 23 days you’re inspired to make a vegan meal and give yourself a challenge to achieve!

Breakfast: Honeybells.

Snack: Crudite (carrot, mushroom, cherry tomato) with cumin-tumeric hummus.

Lunch: Rice and black bean salad. Honeybells. Minty and Nutty Chocolate Bark.

Dinner: Macaroni and cheese with red pepper flakes and fresh basil. Clementines.

bark

Minty and Nutty Chocolate Bark

Ingredients:

1/4 c Cocoa powder

1/2 c Coconut Oil

1/4 c Agave

1 tsp Mint Extract

Coconut flakes

Sea Salt

Pecans, chopped

1. Mix cocoa powder, agave, and melted coconut oil until even consistency. Add mint extract into mixture.

2. Pour mixture on parchment paper and spread evenly.

3. Sprinkle toppings (sea salt, coconut flakes, pecans) onto chocolate and delicately press them into the chocolate.

4. Chill bark for at least 5 minutes or until the bark is set and break up and keep chilled ( I prefer freezer) to maintain shape.

Eat a chunk when the craving hits!

*There are literally a million variations of this bark so be creative and tell me what you’ve tried!

-Cinnamon and cranberries -Orange zest and almonds -Coconut flakes and dried mango -Coconut and mint extract

Share your comments!

